Tomahawk Conditionally Approves Brewers Back in League

New Ulm’s baseball Brewers have been conditionally accepted back into the Tomahawk League East baseball league for the 2012 season. The action was taken at a special league meeting Thursday, Nov. 5, at Sleepy

The final decision will be made in January 2012 when the Brewers must be reclassified as a Class C team by the Minnesota State Amateur baseball board and the Brewers produce an acceptable final roster for league approval. The New Ulm baseball representatives did provide a roster at the meeting Thursday which if basically would be unchanged, would be acceptable to the Tomahawk. New Ulm had been a member of the Tomahawk until the state moved the team into Class B prior to 2011 because it felt it had stocked up with a roster of players which would have made them too strong for the Tomahawk.

The acceptance could involve a probationary period such as the one Hanska operated under when it was elevated to Class B because of success in the state baseball tournament.

Six of the 11 teams attended the meeting. Including Essig, Hanska, Lamberton, Redwood Falls, Sleepy Eye and Springfield. Gibbon, Leavenworth, Searles, Stark and St. James did not attend. . Also in attendance were Brian Hall, Al Flor and Bob Reinhart of the New Ulm Baseball Association.

New Ulm presented a proposed roster for 2012 with 19 names including Ryan Domeier, Rodney Drexler, Landon Rewitzer, Brock Sieve, Taylor Rolloff, Wade French, Aaron Pfaff, Chris Cariveau, Garrett Fischer, Kyle Fischer, Luke Altmann, Adam Nilson, Chris Peters, Zach More, Adam Slander, Andy Irlbeck, Brady Ranweiler, Zach Hoffmann and Drew Pfaff.